PORTALE TURISTICO DEL COMUNE DI SORIANO NEL CIMINO
PORTALE TURISTICO DEL COMUNE DI SORIANO NEL CIMINO

MADONNA DEL POGGIO’S CHURCH

MADONNA DEL POGGIO’S CHURCH

Built around 1609, it was extended in 1690. The façade is built in small blocks of the local reddish, peperino stone. The single aisle interior boasts a large, baroque high altar completely carved, together with the chancel, out of walnut wood. In the adjacent former convent, belonging to the Carmelites first and the Franciscans later, stands a small cloister under the porticos of which one can admire tempera paintings portraying franciscan life, presumably a work by Fra Giovanni Antonio da Padova dating back to the end of the 17th century. One of the temperas depicts – although in anachronistic clothes – with a view of Soriano in the background, a Pope surrounded by the Papal court and a figure kneeling down wearing a habit like the one of St Francis of Assisi: it is Pope Onorio III in the act of turning over to Francis the Rule approved on November 29th 1223 with the famous bull “Solet annuere”